5.9 C
New York
Thursday, December 2, 2021

Buy now


Despite Poor Funding, Buhari Creates 30 More Tertiary Institutions

More tertiary institutions are springing up in different parts of the country under the current administration of President Muhammadu Buhari despite public concerns over poor funding of the existing ones as well inadequate budgetary allocations to the education sector.

Findings show that no fewer than thirty new tertiary institutions have been established by the federal government since Buhari’s assumption in 2015.

Daily Trust reports that the Academic Staff Union of Polytechnics on Tuesday said the establishment of polytechnics in Nigeria was fast becoming mere ‘constituency projects’ to satisfy political convenience.

ASUP President, Anderson Ezeibe, who stated this in Abuja at a two-day workshop said: “We do not agree with the continued establishment of new polytechnics on the largely unsubstantiated premise of providing greater access to tertiary education for young Nigerians as the existing ones remain unattractive to young Nigerians.

Earlier in April, ASUP had asked both the federal and state governments to shut down polytechnics if they can no longer fund them.

The zonal coordinator of ASUP in South West (Zone C), Nureni Yekini who stated this at a briefing held in Abeokuta, shortly after the leadership monitored compliance of strike action in the state said: “The governments are just creating schools for fun and crippling what we called TETFUND in the institutions whereby you are just waiting for the federal government to build one structure or the other which is not acceptable to us.”

Findings by Daily Trust show that among the new tertiary institutions established by the Buhari-led government are 11 universities, 9 colleges of education and 10 polytechnics.

In June, the federal government approved release of N18 billion for take-off of four specialised universities established by the Buhari administration.

The established universities include: the Nigerian Maritime University, Okerenkoko (2018); Air Force Institute of Technology, Kaduna (2018); Nigerian Army University, Biu (2018; Federal University of Transportation, Daura, Katsina State (2018); Federal University of Agriculture, Zuru, Kebbi State (2020) and the University of Health Technology, Otukpo Benue State (2020).

Other universities established by the Buhari government include: the Federal University of Technology, Babura, Jigawa State (2021); Federal University of Technology, Ikot Abasi, Akwa Ibom State (2021); Federal University of Health Sciences, Azare, Bauchi State (2021); Nigeria Air Force University, Kaduna (2018) and the Federal University of Health Sciences, Ila Orangun, Osun State (2021).

Findings also show that the ten polytechnics established include: Federal Polytechnic Ile-Oluji, Ondo State; Federal Polytechnic, Daura, Katsina State; Federal Polytechnic Kaltungo, Gombe State; Federal Polytechnic Ayede, Oyo State; Federal Polytechnic Munguno, Borno State; Federal Polytechnic N’yak, Shendam, Plateau State; Federal Polytechnic Ohodo, Enugu State; Federal Polytechnic Ugep, Cross Rivers State; Federal Polytechnic Wannune, Benue State and the Federal Polytechnic, Orogun, Delta state.

The nine Colleges of Educations established are: Federal College of Education, Iwo; Federal college of Education, Odugbo; Federal College of Education, Isu; Federal College of Education,Ekiadolor; Federal College of Education, Gidan Madi; Federal College of Education, Jama’are; Federal College of Education, Birnin Kudu and Federal College of Agriculture, Kirikasamma

Related Articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Stay Connected

- Advertisement -spot_img

Latest Articles